What About My Digital Rights? (Part II)

On to step two.

Well aware of how my customer service interactions usually turn out (Trinis know what I am talking about), I decided to prepare myself. I retrieved a copy of my receipt from URGE (thank goodness for unlimited e-mail storage) and checked out forum discussions by people who had been in similar positions. The odds did not seem to be in my favour, but I braved the gauntlet anyway and visited Rhapsody’s site and requested technical assistance via chat (A feature that I really like about the foreign customer service experience because you avoid racking-up long-distance phone call charges and are able to keep a copy of your interaction).

The long and short of my conversation with a very polite customer service rep (CSR) was this:

“CSR: I’m really sorry Customer, you cannot play those URGE purchased songs on your new laptop computer.
CSR: You can play only those songs on your old computer.
CSR: If you want to play those songs on your new computer, you have to re-download those songs on your new computer whereas URGE server completely down.
CSR: So you cannot be re-download those songs on your new computer.
CSR: I apologize for the inconvenience caused.”

Hmmm. Such a predicament. I suppose if I had read the URGE’s end-user license agreement (EULA) or the terms of use agreement in its entirety (or at all), I would have realized that:

“THE WEBSITE, SERVICE AND ALL CONTENT, SOFTWARE, PROMOTIONS, GIFT CERTIFICATES AND/OR PRODUCTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE ON AN “AS IS” AND “AS AVAILABLE” BASIS, WITHOUT ANY REPRESENTATION OR WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, OR ANY GUARANTY OR ASSURANCE THE SERVICE, THE WEBSITE, OR ANY CONTENT, SOFTWARE, PROMOTIONS, GIFT CERTIFICATES OR ANY OR ALL PRODUCTS, ACTIVITIES, FEATURES, FUNCTIONS OR OPERATIONS WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR USE OR PERFORM AS DESCRIBED.”

Visit: http://www.urge.com/termsofuse.jhtml

But why does the URGE to Rhapsody FAQs page indicate that I will still have access to my purchased music files? Guess someone has failed to update that info…

Where there is a will, there is a way. URGE user forum discussions presented another alternative. Burning cd copies of the purchased albums (I am at least entitled to one copy per album, aren’t I?) and ripping them to my new laptop has rendered them playable, at least for the moment. I cannot imagine how those persons who purchased hundreds of songs will make out.

A few days later I was invited by e-mail to take part in a Real Rhapsody survey concerning my chat session. Customer service is all about follow-up. I did not respond (in a timely fashion) and I have since deleted Rhapsody player.

Now I am thinking twice about my choice of operating system, media player and music formats.

Mango

I do not usually write about technological issues, so if there are any inaccuracies concerning my use of certain terminology, do let me know.

~ by mangoandmosquitoblog on April 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
