Pidgin Pappy

Rao’s reference to our so-called pidgin English really had me paying close attention to what people say.  This weekend my Dad gave me something to think about:

“Bongo Taffy”

(Dad heard some ladies in his office refer to bossy “fresh water Yankee” ladies as such, especially the fat ones).

Made me laugh.

Mango

P.S. Isn’t “taffy” an English confection?

~ by mangoandmosquitoblog on April 6, 2008.

2 Responses to “Pidgin Pappy”

  1. “bongo taffy?!” that’s hilarious!

  2. If this is an offensive term, my apologies. I have no clue as to its origin.

    Mango

Leave a Reply

 
